Spring forward, Fall back!  Well it's time now to get back that hour that we gave up last spring!  Don't forget to set your clocks BACK an hour at 2 AM on Sunday morning!

BENJAMIN FRANKLIN is credited with the concept of DAYLIGHT SAVING TIME. The basic idea is to make the best use of daylight hours by shifting the clock forward in the SPRING and backward in the FALL, writes NASA's website. DAYLIGHT SAVING TIME has been in use throughout much of the U.S., CANADA and EUROPE since WORLD WAR I. In 1966, President LYNDON JOHNSON signed an act into law whereby DAYLIGHT SAVING TIME begins on the last SUNDAY of APRIL and ends on the last SUNDAY of OCTOBER each year. However, any State can opt out of DAYLIGHT SAVING TIME by passing a State law.

HAWAII does not observe DAYLIGHT SAVING TIME and neither does ARIZONA (although the NAVAJO NATION, in northeastern ARIZONA, does). For many years, most of INDIANA did not observe DAYLIGHT SAVING TIME with the exception of 10 counties. Beginning in 2006, all of INDIANA now observes DAYLIGHT SAVING TIME.

In 2005, President BUSH signed into law a new energy policy bill that would extend DAYLIGHT SAVING TIME by four weeks beginning in 2007, so DAYLIGHT SAVING TIME now begins at 2am on the second SUNDAY of MARCH and DAYLIGHT SAVING TIME ends at 2am on the first SUNDAY of NOVEMBER.