Matt Sparx, TSM

Did you know bald eagles from the northern part of the United States and Canada make Fort Collins their winter home? They fly south each fall to spend the winter in the relatively milder temperatures in Northern Colorado. When the eagles return to Fort Collins, they spend nights in communal roosts in cottonwood trees near Fossil Creek Reservoir.

During planned Eagle Watches, City of Fort Collins Master Naturalists will be stationed at the viewing pier and/or amphitheater to explain the eagles’ natural history and help visitors view them through spotting scopes and binoculars.

Where are the Eagle Watches?

Eagle Watches require a short walk along a paved trail to an amphitheater or viewing pier.  The viewing pier is open year round but Cattail Flats Trail is closed in the winter to prevent disturbance to the eagles. Fossil Creek Reservoir Natural Area is located on the north side of Carpenter Road/ CR 32, approximately one mile west of I-25, or two miles east of Timberline. The approximate address is 3340 Carpenter Road.

You may drop in any time during these programs. They are free and no registration is required. If temperatures are below freezing, or it’s windy or foggy, or unsafe to drive, the Eagle Watches may be canceled. Be sure to visit the Fort Collins Natural Areas website for weather cancellations and updates before you go. Cancellations will be posted at least two hours before program start times.

Eagle Watch Dates and Times

  • Friday, December 16, 3:00-4:30
  • Saturday, December 17, 3:00-4:30
  • Friday, December 30, 3:00-4:30
  • Saturday, December 31, 3:00-4:30
  • Friday, January 6, 3:30-5:00
  • Saturday, January 7, 3:30-5:00
  • Friday, January 13, 3:30-5:00
  • Saturday, January 14, 3:30-5:00
  • Saturday, January 21, 3:30-5:00
  • Friday, January 27, 3:30-5:00
  • Saturday, January 28, 3:30-5:00
  • Friday, February 3, 4:00-5:30
  • Saturday, February 4, 4:00-5:30
  • Friday, February 10, 4:00-5:30
  • Saturday, February 11, 4:00-5:30
  • Friday, February 17, 4:00-5:30
  • Saturday, February 18, 4:00-5:30